See The Light


This is one of those images that is wonderful and yet full of regret. It was one of the earliest I took with my new camera, a Canon EOS Rebel XS. I was still learning about how to work it when this picture was taken.

The story behind this picture is a little long, so bear with me a moment.

We had just had a foot of snowfall and the weather forecast called for dense snow and temperatures around 20 degrees overnight. I knew this would make for idea conditions for frost on the trees and my mind was full of all sorts of beautiful pictures, again from the Dudgeon area. So I set my alarm for 6:30 on December 27, not wanting to miss a moment of daylight. In the morning I bundled up warm and drove to the area.

After a couple of hours of trudging around and snapping pictures left and right, I got tired and was actually quite discouraged because I had hoped that the sun would burn off the fog by then and provide some really spectacular shots. And it did, about 30 minutes after I returned home. And after the sun came out, there was only about another 30 minutes before all the frost came down from the trees like a blizzard.

The picture here is actually not even taken at the Dudgeon area. It was something I snapped a couple of miles away on the trip home.

It is a striking landscape photo and I am proud of it, but as I mentioned above there are many regrets associated with it. One: The scene didn’t really look much like it’s depicted above. The morning was still quite gray and the scene was colorless. A lot of post-processing work was required to produce the result you see. I am pleased, though, that what was required was not anything more than what you might have achieved in a darkroom through burning and dodging.

I learned many things from this photograph, and from the morning in general. Again, I learned that composition is perhaps my largest weakness. There are small branches in the left foreground that detract from the overall effect. They might have worked better if I had actually had enough foreground to add to the image, but as it is they hang out there in the open lending nothing and distracting the eye.

I learned that it is not enough to go to a “pretty place” and look for good pictures. For truly great pictures, you almost always have to know what you are going to take a picture of. Accidents will happen and you will get good pictures that you didn’t plan on from time to time, but that is less common than you might think. A vague notion of “I’ll get pictures of frost” isn’t really planning well enough ahead. Had I had a clearer idea of what I wanted, I may not have even gone to this area.

I learned that you can’t afford to let being tired prevent you from waiting for the shot you want. Had I sat in my car another hour and then walked to the area I’d been in previously, the sun would have been out and I would have ended up with perhaps dozens of enormously striking photographs instead of maybe six so-so ones. Contrast would have been sharper, colors would have been more brilliant; it would have been hard to NOT take an interesting photograph under such conditions. But I got tired and went home instead.

My largest regret? I may never see these conditions again. I may never have the chance to capture such a scene again. The hoar frost was incredibly thick that morning, and the snow was so new there were hardly any animal tracks. I don’t recall ever seeing conditions quite like this before, and I spoiled my opportunity through laziness. I also missed some good shots through simply not knowing how to use my camera well, but I have a lesser regret over that. I chose to learn when I did, and I can’t change that.

Technical details: 1/800, f 7.1, Focal Length 55 mm, ISO 100 with a 18-55 mm lens

What’s Good: Visually striking, interesting colors

What’s Bad: Slightly out of focus, composition would have been greatly improved moving my body 3 feet to the right, despite the low ISO there is a lot of noise in the photo, which was necessitated by bringing out the blues and diminishing the grays.

4 thoughts on “See The Light

  1. Pingback: Blue Christmas | My Visual Journey

Leave a Reply

Edith Levy Photography

Writing with Light

Little Pics of Hope

FREE backyard nature pics to copy or print.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

aniketsalviphotography

I click what I like

The Photographer's Guide to Landscape Photography

Tips and tricks to shoot some better photos of the most exciting places

J.T. Avery Photography

Landscape Photography & Photographic Art

west517

the world we know

jcalvertphotography

Life Thru A Lens.... Capturing and Displaying Life's Beauty

Stephen J. Tyler

Photography

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Stephen G Hipperson

My photography and other stuff

rona black photography

occasional visual essays

Maybrick's Photography

Beautiful British Isles.

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Rick Alonzo Photography

Tampa photographer | Portraits, Models, Landscapes, Wildlife and more

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

SorinPhotography

A VIEW OF THE WORLD THROUGH MY CAMERA LENS

WITH LOVE FROM IOWA

I can make no apologies for following my heart

Through My Lens

The world as I see it

