First Signs


First Signs

f/7.1, 1/125, ISO 100, 155 mm

It was kind of a rough day out on the photo trail this morning. Spent a couple of hours out there when I pointed the lens in a specific direction and realized there was horrible dust on the lens. I sat down to clean it off with my micro fiber cloth and realized at least some of it was on the haze filter, and went about cleaning that off. Apparently a micro fiber cloth is not the correct thing to clean a filter with, because now it’s horribly smudged and scratched. sigh.

When I got home and uploaded the pictures to my computer, I found that almost all of them were useless. The white balance is off or something. I just got the camera back from th repair center (problem with the SD card eject mechanism) and all of the settings had been moved back to default, but I can’t imagine what setting caused all of my pictures to be so horribly contrast-y. Further, I found that most everything I took with my 75-300 zoom had terrible camera movement even though the shutter speed on most was fairly high.

Many of the pictures I had the most hope for had a big green blob right in the center of the image from dust (or a scratch in my haze filter could be the culprit too) and that coupled with the high contrast/white balance issues makes trying to tweak them into presentability an unlovely prospect.

But I did get one or two acceptable, if not outstanding shots. Above is one, showing the first early buds of spring. It is one of the few I took with the zoom that were not blurred.

Guess I’ll have to save up my pennies for a new haze filter. If anyone has any pointers for cleaning the things safely, I would really really appreciate a comment.

Leave a Reply

Edith Levy Photography

Writing with Light

Little Pics of Hope

FREE backyard nature pics to copy or print.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

aniketsalviphotography

I click what I like

The Photographer's Guide to Landscape Photography

Tips and tricks to shoot some better photos of the most exciting places

J.T. Avery Photography

Landscape Photography & Photographic Art

west517

the world we know

jcalvertphotography

Life Thru A Lens.... Capturing and Displaying Life's Beauty

Stephen J. Tyler

Photography

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Stephen G Hipperson

My photography and other stuff

rona black photography

occasional visual essays

Maybrick's Photography

Beautiful British Isles.

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Rick Alonzo Photography

Tampa photographer | Portraits, Models, Landscapes, Wildlife and more

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

SorinPhotography

A VIEW OF THE WORLD THROUGH MY CAMERA LENS

WITH LOVE FROM IOWA

I can make no apologies for following my heart

Through My Lens

The world as I see it

