Slow Leak


Slow Leak

f/5.6, 1/80, ISO-400, 36mm

Shortly after some enterprising individual first punched a pinhole in a box and focused the light it let through onto a silver halide emulsion, I actually took a college course in photography. Once we got past the basics of how to hold a camera and what a f-stop was, the instructor started teaching us (in some cases fruitlessly) the essence of good photographs. Just about his first  rule was “never take pictures of train tracks going off into the distance. It’s trite and it tries to suggest more of a message than is actually contained in the image.”

So here I am taking a picture of train tracks going off into the distance (told you it was fruitless in some cases). Still, I think my wise old professor would probably forgive me this one transgression. This image calls up a great picture of some train rolling along, completely unaware of the trail of bird food it is painting its way  with.

I have to admit that I struggled with this one a bit. Evidently I wasn’t paying enough attention when I was looking through the viewfinder. While I thought I had things all vertical and framed up, it turned out to be rather badly tilted. Worse, there was little I could do to fix it in post processing. Adjusting the crop angle more than a tiny bit gave me much more of the horizon than I wanted (the horizon was particularly ugly in this case). Cropping out the horizon left me with too little of the tracks to look at.

In the end I distorted the heck out of it, which left things more like how I originally wanted it, but also ended up with tracks that would leave a train feeling like it was on the Tilt-A-Whirl and just about ready to tip over to the right. It’s a good lesson in triple-checking your framing, especially when you have unlimited time to take the shot.

6 thoughts on “Slow Leak

  1. Haha, would hate to be riding that train, no wonder all the corn sloshed out, ;) I’ve had to use Photoshop to forgive my composition mistakes on a few occasions. Great post and very enjoyable to read, thanks for sharing!

  2. I really tried to twist this one up so that it would look right, but it defied my every effort. Oh well. You learn as you go, and I’m not entirely unhappy with it as it is.

  3. Hi AJ Bopp:

    You pictures are awesome. I follow my own rules. If I like my pictures I post them. Restraining your taste to rules will prevent you in having fun taking pictures. You are doing great. I had a lot of fun looking at your shots. Persistence makes perfection.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

    • Thanks Omar! I am much the same way. I actually relish the discovery of finding out what my readers like vs what I like. Some of my favorite images on this site have barely been viewed, let alone “liked” or commented on. This particular image has been pretty well received, but I do wish I could take it over again.

Leave a Reply

Edith Levy Photography

Writing with Light

Little Pics of Hope

FREE backyard nature pics to copy or print.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

aniketsalviphotography

I click what I like

The Photographer's Guide to Landscape Photography

Tips and tricks to shoot some better photos of the most exciting places

J.T. Avery Photography

Landscape Photography & Photographic Art

west517

the world we know

jcalvertphotography

Life Thru A Lens.... Capturing and Displaying Life's Beauty

Stephen J. Tyler

Photography

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Stephen G Hipperson

My photography and other stuff

rona black photography

occasional visual essays

Maybrick's Photography

Beautiful British Isles.

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Rick Alonzo Photography

Tampa photographer | Portraits, Models, Landscapes, Wildlife and more

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

SorinPhotography

A VIEW OF THE WORLD THROUGH MY CAMERA LENS

WITH LOVE FROM IOWA

I can make no apologies for following my heart

Through My Lens

The world as I see it

