Abstract Zoom


Abstract Zoom

f/9, 2″, ISO-100, 45-35mm

I was just sitting around the house bored today and decided to try something I’ve seen but never attempted – the long-exposure zoom. I didn’t have any specific subject in mind, but outdoors was out of the question because of wind (the edge of Hurricane Isaac is creeping up on us even here in Iowa). I pointed the camera at several different objects around the living room but this brass vase came out the best I think.

When you are manually cranking the lens during the exposure to create the zoom motion blur, you’re not going to get a super sharp image no matter what preparation you do. Obviously a tripod is a must, and I found I got the best results using a remote shutter control and pressing down on the camera and tripod slightly with the hand on the zoom ring. Pushing seemed to add a little more stability (because I have a beginner-grade tripod). Also, using this technique, make sure that one leg of the tripod is pointing forward, in line with the lens, to add extra stability (otherwise the tripod might tip forward as you push down on the camera lens).

I also found that it helped to twist the zoom lens a few times before the shot to loosen it up a little and get the feel for how to turn it with the least vibration possible. I used my standard kit 18-55mm for this shot, and the relative low quality of the lens meant that the zoom ring tended to stick slightly, which added visibly to the vibrations.

I played around with different shutter speed lengths, from one second all the way up to 20. I found that, for me, two seconds was the sweet spot that got me the biggest impact. I could take my time adjusting the zoom which meant I could do it more smoothly. It also makes a great deal of difference how much you zoom. Too little and it just looks like the camera was shaking. Too much and you either end up with a blob or a well-defined image at one zoom level and a ghost of the image at the extreme other end.

A lot to keep in mind, but I kind of got the hang of it in only about a dozen shots. Doubtless I could google a means of achieving the same effect in Photoshop, but that’s cheating. :)

9 thoughts on “Abstract Zoom

    • I hope you will. It’s definitely something I want to try again, perhaps outdoors next time. Unfortunately it will be awhile before I have the change. The very next time I pulled out my tripod, one of the legs wouldn’t lock into position, so it’s pretty much worthless for anything over 3.5 feet tall now. :(

    • It’s kind of a rewarding way to go about photography on days when you just don’t feel creative. Pretty much anything becomes a little more interesting – or at least interesting in an unexpected way – with this technique.

Leave a Reply

Edith Levy Photography

Writing with Light

Little Pics of Hope

FREE backyard nature pics to copy or print.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

aniketsalviphotography

I click what I like

The Photographer's Guide to Landscape Photography

Tips and tricks to shoot some better photos of the most exciting places

J.T. Avery Photography

Landscape Photography & Photographic Art

west517

the world we know

jcalvertphotography

Life Thru A Lens.... Capturing and Displaying Life's Beauty

Stephen J. Tyler

Photography

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Stephen G Hipperson

My photography and other stuff

rona black photography

occasional visual essays

Maybrick's Photography

Beautiful British Isles.

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Rick Alonzo Photography

Tampa photographer | Portraits, Models, Landscapes, Wildlife and more

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

SorinPhotography

A VIEW OF THE WORLD THROUGH MY CAMERA LENS

WITH LOVE FROM IOWA

I can make no apologies for following my heart

Through My Lens

The world as I see it

