One In A Million


One In A Million

f/5.6, 1/100, ISO-400, 50mm

IMPORTANT: Starting soon all my photos will be posted to my new site, http://vjphotos.net. Please go there and bookmark my new site. I have a lot of great plans coming up I can’t wait to share!

Don’t ever let anyone tell you Iowa is not God’s country.

Living in Iowa has many advantages, but there are some disadvantages. One can be a distinct lack of foreground. I was on my way home from a 60 mile trip the other night and off to the west I could see the clouds starting to turn color. I knew that this was going to be one special sunset – the sort you only get at this time of year. there’s maybe a two week window for this sort of scene to even be possible, when the field work is at its apex and dust, pollen, and grain dust fill the sky. Even then, the clouds have to be just right at just the correct time of day, and many other atmospheric conditions have to be just so. As the scene was unfolding I knew it was going to be something I’d only seen a few times in my 50+ year life.

I also knew I was in the middle of nowhere. Nothing but cornfields from horizon to horizon, many of them already combined. I was desperate. No sunset, no matter how dramatic, is a photograph without a foreground – it’s just a pretty picture. OK, that’s my humble opinion, but you won’t convince me otherwise. Yet there was no foreground anywhere. I knew that within a matter of five minutes the scene would come and be gone, and there would be a window of maybe 30 seconds when the colors would be at their zenith. What do do?

Well one thing that is fairly predictable about rural Iowa is that there’s a crossroads about every mile. I took the first right I could, traveled a quarter of a mile, and found a tiny pine tree. I dove in front of it and began snapping. I made it just in time to properly meter the sky and I was able to get a couple of different basic compositions.

The foreground isn’t much, but without it it’s just a pretty picture. I like to think that with it, it’s something more.

It’s photographs like this that make me remember why I have a camera. It’s also pictures like this that remind me why I always – always – have my camera with me. You can’t get the shot if you don’t have the camera.

5 thoughts on “One In A Million

  1. Beautiful. I had to smile when you said there was a crossroads about every mile. When I was traveling through southern Minnesota, I noticed the same thing. It was straight and flat, but every couple miles there was a cross road.

Leave a Reply

Edith Levy Photography

Writing with Light

Little Pics of Hope

FREE backyard nature pics to copy or print.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

aniketsalviphotography

I click what I like

The Photographer's Guide to Landscape Photography

Tips and tricks to shoot some better photos of the most exciting places

J.T. Avery Photography

Landscape Photography & Photographic Art

west517

the world we know

jcalvertphotography

Life Thru A Lens.... Capturing and Displaying Life's Beauty

Stephen J. Tyler

Photography

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Stephen G Hipperson

My photography and other stuff

rona black photography

occasional visual essays

Maybrick's Photography

Beautiful British Isles.

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Rick Alonzo Photography

Tampa photographer | Portraits, Models, Landscapes, Wildlife and more

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

SorinPhotography

A VIEW OF THE WORLD THROUGH MY CAMERA LENS

WITH LOVE FROM IOWA

I can make no apologies for following my heart

Through My Lens

The world as I see it

