Rework Wednesday – Harley


Rework Wednesday - Harley

F/4, 1/400, ISO-200, 18MM

This is one I’ve been wanting to rework possibly longer than any other photograph. The original was OK, but it is very evident how green I was at post-processing at the time. It’s particularly evident if you look at it on a flat-panel screen from a very high angle. It was a drizzly, overcast day when I took the photo, and I struggled getting the clouds to provide some texture. To be fair on my post-processing skills, the picture first went wrong in the camera. I was lying on the ground and had a lot of difficulty with framing and metering. I should have been 5 or 6 feet back really.

However, in post-processing, I tried to fix the clouds with the adjustment brush in Lightroom. I didn’t yet have the imagination or experience to do area adjustments without the brush. Consequently when viewed from a high angle there are lots of halos around everything because the adjustment brush is a really lousy way to do that sort of editing.

This time I focused on not blowing out the black areas, which gives the whole thing a bit more of an HDR look. I used the gradient tool and a bit of vignette to bring out the clouds a bit. And I did end up using the adjustment brush after all, but for the sort of thing it is good at – I lightened the shadows in the eyes to get rid of the raccoon look.


Rework Wednesday – Har by Anthony Bopp is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

4 thoughts on “Rework Wednesday – Harley

  1. Liked the first version when you posted it. Like this one even more. Only criticism I can give is that the subjects face isn’t as sharp as the color version, emphasis seems to be on the bike not the subject. Which, may very well be the intention… All in all it’s a keeper, nice (re) work.

    • I had a really difficult time originally choosing between the color and b&w versions. I went with b&w eventually because the customer liked it better and I decided the dramatic impact was far steeper. In the reworked version I used different software to edit the face, so that may have contributed to the distinction between then and now as well.

    • The halo effect comes from the amount of feathering I have for the brush in order to make smooth lines, and my own inability to use the brush well in a lot of cases :) It’s especially noticeable when I am doing a high-contrast area like this. I want to darken the sky as much as possible, but I don’t want to darken the face any at all, so I avoid the face, and the feathering leaves a halo. I’m finally learning different techniques that help, but I’m still not entirely satisfied with this effort. Maybe someday I’ll rework the rework :)

Leave a Reply

Edith Levy Photography

Writing with Light

Little Pics of Hope

FREE backyard nature pics to copy or print.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

aniketsalviphotography

I click what I like

The Photographer's Guide to Landscape Photography

Tips and tricks to shoot some better photos of the most exciting places

J.T. Avery Photography

Landscape Photography & Photographic Art

west517

the world we know

jcalvertphotography

Life Thru A Lens.... Capturing and Displaying Life's Beauty

Stephen J. Tyler

Photography

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Stephen G Hipperson

My photography and other stuff

rona black photography

occasional visual essays

Maybrick's Photography

Beautiful British Isles.

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Rick Alonzo Photography

Tampa photographer | Portraits, Models, Landscapes, Wildlife and more

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

SorinPhotography

A VIEW OF THE WORLD THROUGH MY CAMERA LENS

WITH LOVE FROM IOWA

I can make no apologies for following my heart

Through My Lens

The world as I see it

