Microsoft Surface


Microsoft Surface

I took what is for me a pretty big chance recently. I came home with a Microsoft Surface. This was a fairly spontaneous decision. I had been thinking about it for awhile, but there wasn’t much time between deciding to pull the trigger and pulling the trigger.

It was a big chance for me because I wasn’t looking at this as a backup PC or a toy tablet. I was looking for something that would become my primary computing resource. That meant, first and foremost, it has to run Lightroom and Photoshop well. I’d read a lot of reviews that claimed, understandably, that the screen size, if for no other reason, limited this device’s ability to be a serious photo editor.

Bunk.

I do have complaints about the device, but they are almost exclusively to do with Windows 8.1 rather than the device itself. Things behave oddly on the second monitor (though the video is driven quickly and well). Just some odd things like tabs on Google Chrome stack up on top of each other on the second monitor. Things are rendered somewhat differently between the two screens (so, for instance, even though both the Surface and the monitor are at 1920×1080 resolution, windows take up more space on the Surface than the monitor).

But image rendering itself is fantastic. I don’t have specific metrics to compare with my 5 year old tower, but it feels about 10 or 15 times faster. The color accuracy is  fantastic right out of the box. And the screen size is perfectly adequate for serious photo editing. Yes, you’ll spend a few more moments zooming in and out for detail work, but that’s more than made up for – in my case – by the vastly increased speed of everything else. I used to be able to plan on 30 minutes to edit a single photo. Now I can probably manage it in 10. (Partly, I like to think, it’s because I’m getting better at creating the photo I want in the camera, rather than the computer.)

I have to say the Surface has been a joy to use, though I’ll admit that it requires a lot of patience and Google searches to get to the joy. Initially it is a very frustrating operating system, because nothing is obvious or intuitive. Within the first couple of hours I was ready to pack it up and return it for a full refund (I actually had everything back in the box, in fact). But the patience paid off, and while there are still some things I might wish worked differently, the ability to work on photos any time any where, and the added attraction of always having a portfolio with me on a stunning screen, makes all the difference to me.

If you’ve already got a mobile, powerful photo editing workhorse, stay with what you’ve got. But if you are looking for speed and a beautiful display, along with the ultimate in portability, you could do a lot worse than the Surface.

Leave a Reply

Edith Levy Photography

Writing with Light

Little Pics of Hope

FREE backyard nature pics to copy or print.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

aniketsalviphotography

I click what I like

The Photographer's Guide to Landscape Photography

Tips and tricks to shoot some better photos of the most exciting places

J.T. Avery Photography

Landscape Photography & Photographic Art

west517

the world we know

jcalvertphotography

Life Thru A Lens.... Capturing and Displaying Life's Beauty

Stephen J. Tyler

Photography

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Stephen G Hipperson

My photography and other stuff

rona black photography

occasional visual essays

Maybrick's Photography

Beautiful British Isles.

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Rick Alonzo Photography

Tampa photographer | Portraits, Models, Landscapes, Wildlife and more

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

SorinPhotography

A VIEW OF THE WORLD THROUGH MY CAMERA LENS

WITH LOVE FROM IOWA

I can make no apologies for following my heart

Through My Lens

The world as I see it

